Skyrunning World Series

Skyrunning was founded in 1992 by Italian Marino Giacometti, President of the International Skyrunning Federation which sanctions the discipline worldwide.

The Skyrunner® World Series was launched in 2004 and has grown to represent the peak of outdoor running defined by altitude and technical difficulty. The objective of the Skyrunner® World Series is to test the best elite athletes in the world in some of the most spectacular and technical sky races to determine who the best skyrunners in the world are. In 2023 the Series featured 14 races in 10 countries.

This year the UTCB joins the SWS with the UTCB Cordillera Blanca Skyrace that is a race of 25K with 1450m+ that reach a altitude of 4550m.a.s.l at the base of Churup Lake in the Heart of the Cordillera Blanca in the Huascán National Park.